The forum of the forums
Welcome to the Official Support Forum of Forumotion!

To take full advantage of everything offered by our forum, please log in if you are already a member, or join our community if you've not yet.



Create a free forum like this one.

How is it possible that a user deleted their account when I have disabled this option?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

How is it possible that a user deleted their account when I have disabled this option?

Post by Diana on June 12th 2012, 6:45 pm

How is it possible that a user deleted their account when I have disabled this option? I received an email saying a user has deleted their account.

Diana
Active Poster

Female Posts : 1286
Reputation : 21
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Re: How is it possible that a user deleted their account when I have disabled this option?

Post by SLGray on June 12th 2012, 8:30 pm

It could be the member used the unsubscribe link - http://www.forumotion.com/en/unscribe/


When your topic has been solved, ensure you mark the topic solved.
Never post your email in public.


SLGray
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 35649
Reputation : 2374
Language : English
Location : United States

http://fmthemes.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: How is it possible that a user deleted their account when I have disabled this option?

Post by Diana on June 13th 2012, 5:03 pm

Rideem3 wrote:It's possible that you've set it so that accounts be deleted after a period of inactivity. Can you double check that?
how do i check it?


Diana
Active Poster

Female Posts : 1286
Reputation : 21
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Re: How is it possible that a user deleted their account when I have disabled this option?

Post by Sanket on June 13th 2012, 7:22 pm

rhe, You cannot find which users have been deactivated but you can check if the setting was made.
Users & groups>Handle users

I think the user could have deleted himself using the url slg posted.

Sanket
ForumGuru

Male Posts : 48766
Reputation : 2819
Language : English
Location : Mumbai

http://webartzforum.com

Back to top Go down

Re: How is it possible that a user deleted their account when I have disabled this option?

Post by Derri on June 13th 2012, 8:46 pm

Can I ask, Does the users posts get deleted as well?


Forum Rules: :Forumotion Staff: :Appeal A Warning: :FAQ: :Tips & Tricks: :Forgotten Password/Login Issues
You need one post to send a PM
When your topic has been solved, ensure you mark the topic solved
Never post your email in public


Derri
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 8355
Reputation : 571
Language : English & Basic French
Location : Scotland, United Kingdom

Back to top Go down

Re: How is it possible that a user deleted their account when I have disabled this option?

Post by Sanket on June 13th 2012, 8:49 pm

I don't think the messages are deleted. After a user is deleted, it will show up as a Guest post.

Sanket
ForumGuru

Male Posts : 48766
Reputation : 2819
Language : English
Location : Mumbai

http://webartzforum.com

Back to top Go down

Re: How is it possible that a user deleted their account when I have disabled this option?

Post by Derri on June 13th 2012, 8:52 pm

@Sanket wrote:I don't think the messages are deleted. After a user is deleted, it will show up as a Guest post.

Well that is good, at least there won't be holes in threads. That is one of a forums biggest fear.

Derri
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 8355
Reputation : 571
Language : English & Basic French
Location : Scotland, United Kingdom

Back to top Go down

Re: How is it possible that a user deleted their account when I have disabled this option?

Post by kirk on June 13th 2012, 10:19 pm

Yes it will just show up as guest as snaket has stated. If you are not allowing members to delete their accounts and do not have anything set for it to be deleted in a certain amount of time for inactivity. Then the link that SLG has provided is the only way they can deleted it.

By law if a member wants their account deleted then the forum owner has to grant it, or persons that have knowledge of the existence of unsubscribe tool can do it that way.

kirk
Forumaster

Male Posts : 11037
Reputation : 651
Language : English,Vulcan,Klingon, Romulan,& Gorn

Back to top Go down

Re: How is it possible that a user deleted their account when I have disabled this option?

Post by Derri on June 14th 2012, 8:31 am

@kirk wrote:
By law if a member wants their account deleted then the forum owner has to grant it, or persons that have knowledge of the existence of unsubscribe tool can do it that way.

If a member asks for there account to be deleted can we say we won't do that, however if we gave them that link then would that be okay. As deleting accounts can be very messy for a forum.

Derri
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 8355
Reputation : 571
Language : English & Basic French
Location : Scotland, United Kingdom

Back to top Go down

Re: How is it possible that a user deleted their account when I have disabled this option?

Post by Darren1 on June 14th 2012, 2:56 pm

Hi,

No it is not possible; your forum setting over rides that capability.
The only way possible is if another administrator has done it.
You can check the security logs to see how it was done, and whom it was:
Admin panel >> General > Security > Administration Logs.

Darren1
Helper
Helper

Male Posts : 11853
Reputation : 563
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Re: How is it possible that a user deleted their account when I have disabled this option?

Post by kirk on June 14th 2012, 3:20 pm

@Derri wrote:
@kirk wrote:
By law if a member wants their account deleted then the forum owner has to grant it, or persons that have knowledge of the existence of unsubscribe tool can do it that way.

If a member asks for there account to be deleted can we say we won't do that, however if we gave them that link then would that be okay. As deleting accounts can be very messy for a forum.

As long as you give them the link to delete the account then yes.
But if Darren is correct and the unsubscribe tool did not work. Then you would have to grant their request for account deletion or you would be in violation.
http://www.forumotion.com/en/unscribe/
@Darren1 wrote:Hi,

No it is not possible; your forum setting over rides that capability.
The only way possible is if another administrator has done it.
You can check the security logs to see how it was done, and whom it was:
Admin panel >> General > Security > Administration Logs.

Darren i am pretty sure the tool would work regardless of the setting.
However i will test it to be sure Smile

Or you can test if you like.. lol
i am on my way to work in a few min and will have to try it latter Smile
http://www.forumotion.com/en/unscribe/


I actually try to keep this tool out of circulation.
I rather not get in to the reasons why, but was never fond of this tool.. Razz Razz Razz

kirk
Forumaster

Male Posts : 11037
Reputation : 651
Language : English,Vulcan,Klingon, Romulan,& Gorn

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum