The forum of the forums
Welcome to the Official Support Forum of Forumotion!

To take full advantage of everything offered by our forum, please log in if you are already a member, or join our community if you've not yet.



Create a free forum like this one.

[Only Topic] My forum won't load

Page 15 of 16 Previous  1 ... 9 ... 14, 15, 16  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Solved [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by viankova on October 12th 2012, 4:42 pm

First topic message reminder :

Hi, my forum won't load, while another forum I'm member at loads.


This is the forum when it doesn't load.
Spoiler:


And this is the forum that loads.
Spoiler:

Made an Only Topic.


Please try this.

http://help.forumotion.com/t116016-thank-you-for-following-this-approach#758820




Hello,

The problem should be fixed now.

A DNS change has caused this problem. Now, the base DNS configuration has been restored.

Please clear your cache and cookies and check if this issue is fixed, as it should be.

If it's not, here are some different operations that can help to fix the issue :

  • Close your browser
  • Reboot your Internet connection
  • Clear the DNS cache with an ipconfig/flushdns process (How to do this ?)
  • If that still doesn't work, save your current DNS info somewhere else and try to change temporarily your DNS for the DNS provided by Google (How to do this ?)

    If after all these operations, you still have the loading issues, please provide us :

  • The forum(s) concerned
  • A screenshot of the error message
  • Your ISP

Thank you very much to all of you for your patience Wink

viankova
Forumember

Female Posts : 133
Reputation : 0
Language : Sumen

Back to top Go down


Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by 504Heater on October 18th 2012, 4:22 pm

I've tried to read through all of this thread, but it's happening to us as well for people trying to use it from Saskatchewan, Canada.

http://www.gmhockey.com/

504Heater
New Member

Posts : 23
Reputation : 0
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by Leviosa on October 18th 2012, 4:51 pm

Please provide a screenshot, for each new complaint Wink


No help without your forum url
No support via private message



Leviosa
Administrator
Administrator

Female Posts : 15587
Reputation : 1589
Language : French, English

http://help.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by SNL-Krissy on October 18th 2012, 7:28 pm

@504Heater wrote:I've tried to read through all of this thread, but it's happening to us as well for people trying to use it from Saskatchewan, Canada.
http://www.gmhockey.com/


That might also explain why one of my mods is also having issues getting back in. It's been almost a week for her. She also lives in Saskatchewan, Canada.

What info do I need to get from her to get this problem resolved for her?

This is the link to the forum we are having issues with.
http://www.soaps-n-lotions.com/

SNL-Krissy
New Member

Posts : 1
Reputation : 1
Language : english

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by SLGray on October 18th 2012, 7:59 pm

leeloo wrote:Hello,

The problem should be fixed now.

A DNS change has caused this problem. Now, the base DNS configuration has been restored.

Please clear your cache and cookies and check if this issue is fixed, as it should be.

If it's not, here are some different operations that can help to fix the issue :

  • Close your browser
  • Reboot your Internet connection
  • Clear the DNS cache with an ipconfig/flushdns process (How to do this ?)
  • If that still doesn't work, save your current DNS info somewhere else and try to change temporarily your DNS for the DNS provided by Google (How to do this ?)

    If after all these operations, you still have the loading issues, please provide us :

  • The forum(s) concerned
  • A screenshot of the error message
  • Your ISP

Thank you very much to all of you for your patience Wink


When your topic has been solved, ensure you mark the topic solved.
Never post your email in public.


SLGray
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 36663
Reputation : 2444
Language : English
Location : United States

http://ztwds.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by 504Heater on October 18th 2012, 8:39 pm

@SNL-Krissy wrote:
@504Heater wrote:I've tried to read through all of this thread, but it's happening to us as well for people trying to use it from Saskatchewan, Canada.
http://www.gmhockey.com/


That might also explain why one of my mods is also having issues getting back in. It's been almost a week for her. She also lives in Saskatchewan, Canada.

What info do I need to get from her to get this problem resolved for her?

This is the link to the forum we are having issues with.
http://www.soaps-n-lotions.com/


Yeah, it's been about a week for one of our members as well.

PS - How do I upload a screenshot from my computer? I tried and couldn't make it work. Question

504Heater
New Member

Posts : 23
Reputation : 0
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by nathanr on October 18th 2012, 10:24 pm

Forum URL: www.raveninghordes.forumakers.com
Country: Canada
Internet service Provider: Sasktel

I can access my forum from my work computer but I can't from my home computer or iphone. I have tried clearing the cache on my phone and home computer to no avail. I tried contacting Sasktel but they cannot access the site either. Not sure what is going on. I am at work so I can't post a screencap from my home computer but here's one from my iphone:



edit: I can't access any forumotion site from my phone


Last edited by nathanr on October 18th 2012, 10:26 pm; edited 1 time in total

nathanr
New Member

Posts : 4
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by TWIZTEDxDevil on October 18th 2012, 10:26 pm

Mine works now Smile

TWIZTEDxDevil
Forumember

Posts : 51
Reputation : 1
Language : English

http://psvmods.net

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by Rosalie Swan on October 19th 2012, 1:29 am

URL: www.magnoliaroleplays.forumotion.com

One of my members who lives in Saskatchewan still can't access the site. He's tried three different browsers and all have received error messages.

http://puu.sh/1gfrR/538a35a76ad904d7cdb340f814253d5f
http://puu.sh/1gftp/0503679da9f6b531a45ba9a133b786de
http://puu.sh/1gftB/1c4b989a06c0505ef1d9cb6eb69392e5

You said the problem was fixed but he just tried it an hour ago.

Rosalie Swan
New Member

Posts : 3
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by nathanr on October 19th 2012, 1:51 am

I was able to load my forum on my iphone after changing the DNS settings on my wifi connection to Google's Public DNS. This isn't a permanent solution though since it only works when my phone is connected to Wifi.

I think that it is an issue with Sasktel (my ISP) at this point. I have a service request in with them so hopefully they can get it resolved soon.

nathanr
New Member

Posts : 4
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by Rosalie Swan on October 19th 2012, 2:07 am

This member also uses Sasktel. I told him to lodge a complaint with them.

Rosalie Swan
New Member

Posts : 3
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by HogwartsAcademy on October 19th 2012, 2:52 am

I cleared my cache, rebooted my computer, rebooted my modem, and the same people that can't get on cannot visit my website. I can, I always could, I never gotten one error on my own forum in my LIFE. I followed all the steps, cleared my DNS flushed it did everything possible, and they still cannot get on or view any other forumotion site. WHAT AM I GOING TO DO!??

HogwartsAcademy
Forumember

Posts : 474
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by SLGray on October 19th 2012, 3:23 am

@HogwartsAcademy wrote:I cleared my cache, rebooted my computer, rebooted my modem, and the same people that can't get on cannot visit my website. I can, I always could, I never gotten one error on my own forum in my LIFE. I followed all the steps, cleared my DNS flushed it did everything possible, and they still cannot get on or view any other forumotion site. WHAT AM I GOING TO DO!??

You need to have the members (not you, unless you are having the same issue, too) with the issue to do things listed here.


When your topic has been solved, ensure you mark the topic solved.
Never post your email in public.


SLGray
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 36663
Reputation : 2444
Language : English
Location : United States

http://ztwds.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by HogwartsAcademy on October 19th 2012, 3:54 am

slg wrote:
@HogwartsAcademy wrote:I cleared my cache, rebooted my computer, rebooted my modem, and the same people that can't get on cannot visit my website. I can, I always could, I never gotten one error on my own forum in my LIFE. I followed all the steps, cleared my DNS flushed it did everything possible, and they still cannot get on or view any other forumotion site. WHAT AM I GOING TO DO!??

You need to have the members (not you, unless you are having the same issue, too) with the issue to do things listed here.

I cannot, I am basically the translator for them. They are not experienced with computers, however I have direct contact with them. One of the members says she cannot access ANY forumotion site. I am not sure why. Should I contact my ISP and ask them to clear my cache/dns for me?

HogwartsAcademy
Forumember

Posts : 474
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by SLGray on October 19th 2012, 3:56 am

The members that are having trouble connecting are the ones that need to follow what Leeloo posted.


When your topic has been solved, ensure you mark the topic solved.
Never post your email in public.


SLGray
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 36663
Reputation : 2444
Language : English
Location : United States

http://ztwds.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by HogwartsAcademy on October 19th 2012, 3:59 am

slg wrote:The members that are having trouble connecting are the ones that need to follow what Leeloo posted.

They did. The rebooted their computer, tried opening our site from different computers/laptops. Loaded in safe mode. Nothing. I feel this is on my side/forumotions, and I know it's not FM's because you say you fixed the problem. What should I do?

HogwartsAcademy
Forumember

Posts : 474
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by SLGray on October 19th 2012, 4:01 am

leeloo wrote:If after all these operations, you still have the loading issues, please provide us :

  • The forum(s) concerned
  • A screenshot of the error message
  • Your ISP


When your topic has been solved, ensure you mark the topic solved.
Never post your email in public.


SLGray
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 36663
Reputation : 2444
Language : English
Location : United States

http://ztwds.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by HogwartsAcademy on October 19th 2012, 4:08 am

http://www.hogwartsacademy.org/
Not me, my members
Cisco

HogwartsAcademy
Forumember

Posts : 474
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by nathanr on October 19th 2012, 5:24 am

Basically what I'm getting from this is that it is my ISP's problem at this point. If the ISP flushes their servers' dns the issue should be resolved? Is this routine maintenance that should be done periodically by the ISP or is it something that I'm going to have to fight to get them to do? If I call them for support what exactly should I ask that they do so I don't come off sounding like an idiot?

I am able to change my dns settings to google on my PC to bypass this issue but not on my iphone.

nathanr
New Member

Posts : 4
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by Sanket on October 19th 2012, 5:30 am

@nathanr wrote:Basically what I'm getting from this is that it is my ISP's problem at this point. If the ISP flushes their servers' dns the issue should be resolved? Is this routine maintenance that should be done periodically by the ISP or is it something that I'm going to have to fight to get them to do? If I call them for support what exactly should I ask that they do so I don't come off sounding like an idiot?

I am able to change my dns settings to google on my PC to bypass this issue but not on my iphone.

You want to change the DNS on your Iphone?
http://techinch.com/blog/change-your-dns-settings-on-iphone-ipod-touch-and-ipad

Sanket
ForumGuru

Male Posts : 48766
Reputation : 2819
Language : English
Location : Mumbai

http://webartzforum.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by Leviosa on October 19th 2012, 9:32 am


Instead of posting the same message each time, can you please ask a screenshot to your members and ask them what are their ISP ?

Thank you Wink

Leviosa
Administrator
Administrator

Female Posts : 15587
Reputation : 1589
Language : French, English

http://help.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by Silencer on October 19th 2012, 2:59 pm

Forum URL: http://infiniteutopia.forumid.net/
Country: Indonesia
Internet service Provider: smart

Silencer
New Member

Posts : 3
Reputation : 0
Language : Indonesian

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by Leviosa on October 19th 2012, 3:02 pm

@Silencer wrote:Forum URL: http://infiniteutopia.forumid.net/
Country: Indonesia
Internet service Provider: smart

I need a screenshot please Smile

Leviosa
Administrator
Administrator

Female Posts : 15587
Reputation : 1589
Language : French, English

http://help.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by NuclearTreerat on October 19th 2012, 3:44 pm

Was fixed for about 2 days then back to the same problem.

NuclearTreerat
New Member

Posts : 4
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by Leviosa on October 19th 2012, 3:57 pm

leeloo wrote:If after all these operations, you still have the loading issues, please provide us :

  • The forum(s) concerned
  • A screenshot of the error message
  • Your ISP


No help without your forum url
No support via private message



Leviosa
Administrator
Administrator

Female Posts : 15587
Reputation : 1589
Language : French, English

http://help.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by nathanr on October 19th 2012, 5:04 pm


That works when I'm connected to wifi and I've done that and successfully loaded my forum but when I'm not connected to Wifi I cannot use those dns settings and am stuck using my cellular data (3G) which does not work and gives me a "server not found" error. I am convinced that this problem is not on forumotion's end and is solely a result of my ISP not clearing their dns on their servers.

My real question is what I should be asking of my ISP. I kind of understand what the problem is but I don't know the correct terminology for when I am communicating with them. Can you let me know what I should be saying to them so I don't sound like an idiot?

Edit: The forum seems to be working again, hopefully for everyone.


Last edited by nathanr on October 19th 2012, 7:47 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : forum works!)

nathanr
New Member

Posts : 4
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by Brianman23 on October 19th 2012, 10:12 pm

@nathanr wrote:

That works when I'm connected to wifi and I've done that and successfully loaded my forum but when I'm not connected to Wifi I cannot use those dns settings and am stuck using my cellular data (3G) which does not work and gives me a "server not found" error. I am convinced that this problem is not on forumotion's end and is solely a result of my ISP not clearing their dns on their servers.

My real question is what I should be asking of my ISP. I kind of understand what the problem is but I don't know the correct terminology for when I am communicating with them. Can you let me know what I should be saying to them so I don't sound like an idiot?

Edit: The forum seems to be working again, hopefully for everyone.

I'm guessing that ISPs will frequently do this anyways. I have been able to access my forum consistently for a while and was only having problems for a few days, so I would say that this will eventually happen for everyone else as well.

Brianman23
Forumember

Posts : 64
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by HogwartsAcademy on October 19th 2012, 10:29 pm

The forum(s) concerned: http://www.hogwartsacademy.org/
A screenshot of the error message: Firefox: http://sphotos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/398211_4752613535700_1205778101_n.jpg

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/525041_4752607975561_264766217_n.jpg


Your ISP: Century link

P.S. this is for one of my friends as they aren't good with CPU's and need help with this. I have direct contact with them so please talk to me rather than them.

P.S. THEY CANNOT VIEW ANY FORUMOTION SITE! THEY HAVE CLEARED THEIR CACHE, DNS, RESTARTED COMP, ROUTER, TRYING OPENING IN SAFE MODE, NOTHING! So this means it is not on my side, but theirs or Forumotions.

HogwartsAcademy
Forumember

Posts : 474
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by Brianman23 on October 20th 2012, 4:18 am

@HogwartsAcademy wrote:The forum(s) concerned: http://www.hogwartsacademy.org/
A screenshot of the error message: Firefox: http://sphotos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/398211_4752613535700_1205778101_n.jpg

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/525041_4752607975561_264766217_n.jpg


Your ISP: Century link

P.S. this is for one of my friends as they aren't good with CPU's and need help with this. I have direct contact with them so please talk to me rather than them.

P.S. THEY CANNOT VIEW ANY FORUMOTION SITE! THEY HAVE CLEARED THEIR CACHE, DNS, RESTARTED COMP, ROUTER, TRYING OPENING IN SAFE MODE, NOTHING! So this means it is not on my side, but theirs or Forumotions.

Did they try changing their IP address or using a proxy?

Brianman23
Forumember

Posts : 64
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by Rosalie Swan on October 20th 2012, 4:25 am

My one Sasknet user managed to log in.

Rosalie Swan
New Member

Posts : 3
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] My forum won't load

Post by HogwartsAcademy on October 20th 2012, 4:41 am

@Brianman23 wrote:
@HogwartsAcademy wrote:The forum(s) concerned: http://www.hogwartsacademy.org/
A screenshot of the error message: Firefox: http://sphotos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/398211_4752613535700_1205778101_n.jpg

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/525041_4752607975561_264766217_n.jpg


Your ISP: Century link

P.S. this is for one of my friends as they aren't good with CPU's and need help with this. I have direct contact with them so please talk to me rather than them.

P.S. THEY CANNOT VIEW ANY FORUMOTION SITE! THEY HAVE CLEARED THEIR CACHE, DNS, RESTARTED COMP, ROUTER, TRYING OPENING IN SAFE MODE, NOTHING! So this means it is not on my side, but theirs or Forumotions.

Did they try changing their IP address or using a proxy?

Using a proxy worked but they couldn't log in and it would only be temporary.

HogwartsAcademy
Forumember

Posts : 474
Reputation : 1
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Page 15 of 16 Previous  1 ... 9 ... 14, 15, 16  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum