The forum of the forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Embedding my 'exported for web' quicktime video

Go down

Solved Embedding my 'exported for web' quicktime video

Post by Guest December 12th 2012, 10:38 am

Hi there,

I have little knowledge in coding and was hoping someone here could help me? In the forum I have created, in one of the posts I am putting in some content and referencing some videos. I don't want to use youtube for this.

I have exported my video file via Quicktime using the option for the web, I have personal server space so I can put that exported folder on there, no problem. I want to link to the video file, but I would like to see the preview of the video much like you do with YouTube, rather than a link, so it is embedded into the thread.

I'm struggling to understand what I have to do with their instructions. The documents read:

Use the following HTML code to embed your movie into your web page.

Important Notes:

To make your media viewable on the Internet, your media assets (movies, poster image) must be placed on a publicly accessible server.
The URL parameters must be modified if your media assets are served from a different location than your web page.
The movie URL parameters must always point to the reference movie (Archwire.mov) rather than a source movie.
The reference movie must be kept in the same folder as the source movies.
Source movie names cannot be changed, but you can change the name of the reference movie (remember to change it in the HTML code as well).
Please note, to properly validate as XHTML, the <style> tag and the first <script> tag should be placed within your page's <head> tag.
You may choose whether to use a JavaScript movie controller, including a Play/Pause button and a clickable timeline, or the original QuickTime movie controller:

Use this code in the <head> of your web page:
*code is here*

Use this code in the <body> of your web page: