The forum of the forums
Welcome to the Official Support Forum of Forumotion!

To take full advantage of everything offered by our forum, please log in if you are already a member, or join our community if you've not yet.



Create a free forum like this one.

(Only Topic!) New Editor

Page 3 of 4 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

(Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by Sanket on July 11th 2013, 7:54 am

First topic message reminder :

I don't know. But, i can access the forums fine via my Android.

Honestly, i am not sure what needs to be done to make it bigger for PS3 browser. Sorry.
avatar
Sanket
ForumGuru

Male Posts : 48766
Reputation : 2828
Language : English
Location : Mumbai

http://webartzforum.com

Back to top Go down


Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by runawayhorses on August 10th 2013, 3:38 pm

Well I enlarged your screenshots full size and they look how I would expect them look if you resize the editors window. The fact is whenever you resize any window you can expect the contents to look different, and nine times out of ten out of place and awkward. That's because its trying to relocate all the contents to your resize specifications it wasn't expecting by dragging the window. When you mess with this new text editors window in that fashion with all of its short comings that already exist, you are in essence pushing the envelope, because just to make it function correcly in its normal state is a triumph in and of itself. Consider yourself lucky that it functions normally with the window UN-resized.

runawayhorses
Hyperactive

Male Posts : 2537
Reputation : 164
Language : English
Location : United States

http://runawayhorses.alldiscussion.net/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by sfoop on August 10th 2013, 9:37 pm

@runawayhorses wrote:The fact is whenever you resize any window you can expect the contents to look different, and nine times out of ten out of place and awkward.
Sorry, that's really wrong, the web isn't designed that way. Just resize the window at sceditor.com. It's Forumotion's use of it that's broken.

For some reason they're setting a 'width' style on the textarea (via a style attribute on the HTML element) and div.sceditor-container.ltr.sourceMode. If you disable those it works fine.

sfoop
Forumember

Posts : 33
Reputation : 2
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by runawayhorses on August 11th 2013, 12:31 am

@sfoop wrote:Sorry, that's really wrong, the web isn't designed that way. Just resize the window at sceditor.com. It's Forumotion's use of it that's broken.
Well its not a "Web" issue, the "web" doesn't control or design anything. Thats like saying the combustion engine doesn't make very pretty automobiles. Most websites you visit when you resize a window it alters its content in a awkard fashion, often times looking out of place. Its a ratio issue and no one can predict how large or small someone is going to resize a window using the drag method, and thus won't look right for everyone.

However, if the Techs can alter the code in some way to make the resized window more appealing to you I'm all for that, so mentioning it might bring awareness to them that you aren't satisfied which was probably your intention. Good luck with that.

runawayhorses
Hyperactive

Male Posts : 2537
Reputation : 164
Language : English
Location : United States

http://runawayhorses.alldiscussion.net/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by Diana on August 12th 2013, 12:58 am

I didn't go throught the whole thread but is there a solution for the phones and those fancy pants "tablet" computers?
avatar
Diana
Active Poster

Female Posts : 1286
Reputation : 21
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by Martind Forlon on August 14th 2013, 3:20 pm

I know that something like this was mentioned before, but was given solution to "adding line breaks" problem?

Here is code for table posted WITHOUT line breaks:
Code:
Our current financial situation is as follows:

[table border="1"][tr][td width="120px"]FORLON: [/td] [td][right]1 746 M[/right] [/td] [/tr] [tr][td]ARROW: [/td] [td][right]25 M[/right] [/td] [/tr] [/table]
and here is what you will have when you try edit post:
Code:
Our current financial situation is as follows:

[table border="1"][tr][td width="120px"]FORLON: [/td]
[td][right]1 746 M[/right]
[/td]
[/tr]
[tr][td]ARROW: [/td]
[td][right]25 M[/right]
[/td]
[/tr]
[/table]
when I post "edit" .. table formatting is lost.

I'm using one small utility which is able remove those unwanted new line breaks but this is ways from "user firendly" situation.

Martind Forlon
New Member

Posts : 9
Reputation : 1
Language : Czech, English

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by runawayhorses on August 14th 2013, 5:09 pm

One thing I just noticed is when you post a youtube video with the editor the video will not go full-screen when you click the little full-screen square on the bottom right-hand side of the video. That stopped working.

runawayhorses
Hyperactive

Male Posts : 2537
Reputation : 164
Language : English
Location : United States

http://runawayhorses.alldiscussion.net/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by SLGray on August 14th 2013, 7:00 pm

@runawayhorses wrote:One thing I just noticed is when you post a youtube video with the editor the video will not go full-screen when you click the little full-screen square on the bottom right-hand side of the video. That stopped working.
That did not work in the old editor either. You have to use a different code to use the full screen button.


When your topic has been solved, ensure you mark the topic solved.
Never post your email in public.

avatar
SLGray
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 41177
Reputation : 2816
Language : English
Location : United States

https://fmthemes.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by runawayhorses on August 14th 2013, 8:35 pm

Oh OK, I guess you mean youtubes embed code. Only problem with that code is youtube removed the http: from all the embed codes so you have to add it manually now.

thanks

runawayhorses
Hyperactive

Male Posts : 2537
Reputation : 164
Language : English
Location : United States

http://runawayhorses.alldiscussion.net/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by DaDwarf on August 18th 2013, 10:18 am

@DaDwarf wrote:
@DaDwarf wrote:
@Leslie G2G wrote:I'm Still having white on white posting issues, here's what it looks like;

What I typed
http://illiweb.com/fa/pbucket.gif


I had to highlight to see what was written
http://illiweb.com/fa/pbucket.gif

Is there anyway to fix this? It's getting extremely frustrating. Sorry for the links, the "insert Image" feature wasn't working either.


I am still having the same problem, but black on black! Even though i have a CSS that is posted somewhere in this topic that allowed me to alter the text to white, it just zapped it back to black and now i have to manually make it white every single time i post...

On mobile, the editor box is white and the text is white! It's very frustrating, i can't see what i'm posting anywhere...

I found out my site works with PhpBB 3 instead of two. The codes that i had added that worked fine for a while are now not working at all. I need a CSS/javascript code for PhpBB 3 so that my white text box will go white and my black text will stay black! Please help.



Edit. I removed everything i had added for phpBB 2 and we just used the white text box with black writing. It went well for about an hour. Now, it changes the color of the text to black!!!! Now i can't even read what it says cause my background is black/dark grey! I need help, i need some type of temp fix for this. I cant manually have to change my post color every single time i post!

And @poster below me, please actually read my problem. I already had that CSS as well as the javascript linked in the first post. It helped for 2 weeks, then the box was black background with black text, then it turned white background with white text, then i erased everything and it worked for 2 hours, white background with black text and now the editor shows at white + black text but the post is posted as BLACK, so we can't see what we are writing because i have a dark site lay-out.
I am still having this problem. We finally got used to the white editor (NOT ideal on a black layout.) but now the text suddenly started to appear black again, while it had been appearing in white on site.

So, white editor + black text, soon as you click send it would post and the message would be in white.
Now, started 2 days ago, white editor + black text, soon as you click send it will post but the message will be in black, therefor you can't see. I now have to manually change it each time i post which is very, very annoying. I need a fix to this problem.

DaDwarf
New Member

Posts : 22
Reputation : 2
Language : Dutch

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by RedJelly on August 25th 2013, 11:50 am

I have a problem with text align.
In chrome, when you push left ctrl + left shift / right ctrl + right shift to align the text (for RTL language) it will create [ltr] and [rtl] bbcode tags that will screw up the post / comment.

Better info in here:http://help.forumotion.com/t126697-bug-with-the-new-editor

RedJelly
New Member

Posts : 3
Reputation : 1
Language : HE/EN

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by VampireWicked on August 31st 2013, 4:28 am

This editor has been nothing but a pain for many, modified & unmodified forums alike.
It's been how long & still no improvements ?
The forum i'm on has not been modified during it's creation, is there some sorta patch coming to fix what whoever broke because i got no solutions from mods or admins since my first post about the issue.
avatar
VampireWicked
Forumember

Posts : 41
Reputation : 2
Language : english

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by SLGray on August 31st 2013, 5:22 am

I have noticed that the text editor is now working as good as the old one.

VampireWicked: please post the link to your post in this thread.


When your topic has been solved, ensure you mark the topic solved.
Never post your email in public.

avatar
SLGray
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 41177
Reputation : 2816
Language : English
Location : United States

https://fmthemes.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by VampireWicked on August 31st 2013, 4:28 pm

@SLGray wrote:VampireWicked: please post the link to your post in this thread.
It's the first post on page 34.
avatar
VampireWicked
Forumember

Posts : 41
Reputation : 2
Language : english

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by melodiccolor on September 4th 2013, 10:39 pm

The new editor still has problems. A member found she still couldn't click on links in posts using Internet Explorer last night. Since it was her husband's computer, I am not sure what os it was, but likely it was Windows XP.

melodiccolor
Forumember

Posts : 273
Reputation : 1
Language : english

http://The HSP Dimension http://funhsps.niceboard.org/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by SLGray on September 5th 2013, 1:36 am

I have Windows XP and IE 8, and I can click links.


When your topic has been solved, ensure you mark the topic solved.
Never post your email in public.

avatar
SLGray
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 41177
Reputation : 2816
Language : English
Location : United States

https://fmthemes.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by runawayhorses on September 5th 2013, 1:49 am

@melodiccolor wrote:The new editor still has problems. A member found she still couldn't click on links in posts using Internet Explorer last night. Since it was her husband's computer, I am not sure what os it was, but likely it was Windows XP.
Maybe they weren't logged in so the links were disabled. IE-8 is old but not so outdated yet links don't work.

A lot of things don't work on IE-8 but the way links are coded have not depreciated or changed enough to affect IE-8, it still hobbles along. Although its possible other codes can conflict and effect how links work, and IE-8 is vulnerable to new changes and will continue to become unusable. Windows XP will survive for many years to come because you can use any browser you want with it and update programs. But IE-8 is now becoming hard to use, but IE-6 is worst, many sites will crash the browser using it.

runawayhorses
Hyperactive

Male Posts : 2537
Reputation : 164
Language : English
Location : United States

http://runawayhorses.alldiscussion.net/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by bob77707 on September 12th 2013, 11:53 pm

@VampireWicked wrote:
@SLGray wrote:VampireWicked: please post the link to your post in this thread.
It's the first post on page 34.
So I had the same issue with the editor using my iPhone 3G. I found out that it's not something wrong with the editor, it is just that certain mobile browsers are not current enough to support the editor. It worked perfectly fine using my iPod Touch 4G and an iPhone 4G and an iPad. It's definitely unfortunate that there isn't a fully functional editor to at least take the place of the default for those using "dated" mobile browsers. Hopefully something can be implemented in the future.

bob77707
Forumember

Posts : 48
Reputation : 4
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by Sweet_Nightmare on September 17th 2013, 9:02 pm

Hello, maybe I have missed something, but couldn't find solution. Smileys in my forum aren't showing. I guess its from the new editor, but in other forums there's no problem

avatar
Sweet_Nightmare
Forumember

Female Posts : 84
Reputation : 4
Language : Bulgarian
Location : Sofia, Bulgaria

http://teenobsession.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by SLGray on September 17th 2013, 10:44 pm

@Sweet_Nightmare wrote:Hello, maybe I have missed something, but couldn't find solution. Smileys in my forum aren't showing. I guess its from the new editor, but in other forums there's no problem

http://help.forumotion.com/t124671p60-only-topic-new-editor#830677


When your topic has been solved, ensure you mark the topic solved.
Never post your email in public.

avatar
SLGray
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 41177
Reputation : 2816
Language : English
Location : United States

https://fmthemes.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by Sweet_Nightmare on September 17th 2013, 10:50 pm

Yeah, I tried this, but nothing happened.
avatar
Sweet_Nightmare
Forumember

Female Posts : 84
Reputation : 4
Language : Bulgarian
Location : Sofia, Bulgaria

http://teenobsession.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by SLGray on September 17th 2013, 10:52 pm

Add it to the top of your CSS stylesheet.


When your topic has been solved, ensure you mark the topic solved.
Never post your email in public.

avatar
SLGray
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 41177
Reputation : 2816
Language : English
Location : United States

https://fmthemes.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by Sweet_Nightmare on September 17th 2013, 10:57 pm

Nothing changed
avatar
Sweet_Nightmare
Forumember

Female Posts : 84
Reputation : 4
Language : Bulgarian
Location : Sofia, Bulgaria

http://teenobsession.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by SLGray on September 17th 2013, 11:06 pm

Is your forum version phpBB 2, and did you modify the templates before the new editor was installed? If yes to both questions, did you read the announcement about the new editor and phpBB 2: http://help.forumotion.com/t124616-new-editor-for-forumotion-forums#830267 ?


When your topic has been solved, ensure you mark the topic solved.
Never post your email in public.

avatar
SLGray
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 41177
Reputation : 2816
Language : English
Location : United States

https://fmthemes.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by Sweet_Nightmare on September 17th 2013, 11:09 pm

Yes, I modified it and now returned to default and they are showing.
avatar
Sweet_Nightmare
Forumember

Female Posts : 84
Reputation : 4
Language : Bulgarian
Location : Sofia, Bulgaria

http://teenobsession.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by APE on September 17th 2013, 11:19 pm

Please give this a try
It sounds to me that you may have some thing removing that part of the system.

Please go in ACP and turn off your JavaScript and see if you see it then

If you do then you have a problem with a code in your JavaScript

Also try re-adding your templates again from the start.

Ape
avatar
APE
Manager
Manager

Male Posts : 11296
Reputation : 1081
Language : fluent in dork / mumbojumbo & English haha
Location : STUCK IN FORUMOTIONS SERVERS HELP ME !!!!!!

http://chatworld.forumotion.co.uk/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by Sweet_Nightmare on September 17th 2013, 11:27 pm

I did it, and the result is



Everyhing was ok, when posting_body was default.
avatar
Sweet_Nightmare
Forumember

Female Posts : 84
Reputation : 4
Language : Bulgarian
Location : Sofia, Bulgaria

http://teenobsession.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by APE on September 17th 2013, 11:40 pm

okay so now we know there is a problem is some codes some where
If this was as a result of you removing your JavaScript then there is your problem there is a code messing your new editor up

What we now need to do is redo the templates as gave by this post
http://help.forumotion.com/t124616-new-editor-for-forumotion-forums

Then save them. Then we need to turn your JavaScript back on and have a look at what errors come up in your Error console take a copy of the errors and post them here.



avatar
APE
Manager
Manager

Male Posts : 11296
Reputation : 1081
Language : fluent in dork / mumbojumbo & English haha
Location : STUCK IN FORUMOTIONS SERVERS HELP ME !!!!!!

http://chatworld.forumotion.co.uk/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by Sweet_Nightmare on September 17th 2013, 11:49 pm

My Java is for select button and google analytics

I've done everything you said.
avatar
Sweet_Nightmare
Forumember

Female Posts : 84
Reputation : 4
Language : Bulgarian
Location : Sofia, Bulgaria

http://teenobsession.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by Ramdaman on September 18th 2013, 12:11 am

Hello. On my forum, if I put a Bold BBCode and a Color BBCode and press submit, it's all good. When I go to edit it, it adds more Bold BBCodes and ruins the coding. Here are some pictures for you to understand.

This is the coding I put in a thread first.

http://ft2.dtupload.com/UZ/2.jpg

This is what it comes out to (The thread is good until you press Edit)

http://ft2.dtupload.com/O/1.jpg

This is what happens when I press edit. (Take a close look at the extra bbcode that randomly appears.)

http://ft2.dtupload.com/vf/3.jpg

This must be a forumotion problem, because it happens on every single section of my forums. Please help.
avatar
Ramdaman
Active Poster

Male Posts : 1614
Reputation : 98
Language : English, Albanian, Macedonian, Russian | HTML, CSS
Location : New York City

http://ndihme.forumotion.com/forum

Back to top Go down

Re: (Only Topic!) New Editor

Post by Eldarwen on September 25th 2013, 10:57 am

Hello, we basically have exactly the same problem as the poster before above.
The editor, on pressing submit for a post of any place in the forum, will not display the code as it should; instead, on reviewing the code it has nearly always done the following:

+ Added in line breaks where they shouldn't be

+ Adding in useless font tags that clutter the coding, or worse, adding in font tags that upset the existing coding.

+ It often does the same with color tags ^

+ If a table is coded in and then the editor switched to WYSIWYG mode, the contents of a cell or more is just completely wiped

+ Font tags occasionally don't "reach" as far as they should; they magically only seem to affect a portion of text before the editor just seems to give up displaying the effect.

+ Last one, I am pretty sure it should not, but are size tags supposed to display in the WYSIWYG editor? That would kind of defeat the object?

I'd really appreciate some answers since this is ongoing and I can't be sure if it is intended to be fixed or not.

Will the coding the godfather provided in the update post help at all? Even with a PHPBB2 forum, I am not sure where or how to apply the code if it is even relevant.

Thankyou in advance

Eldarwen
New Member

Posts : 3
Reputation : 0
Language : English

http://dragonscove.darkbb.com

Back to top Go down

Page 3 of 4 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum