The forum of the forums
Welcome to the Official Support Forum of Forumotion!

To take full advantage of everything offered by our forum, please log in if you are already a member, or join our community if you've not yet.



Create a free forum like this one.

[Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Solved [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by LilaP on April 17th 2015, 1:52 pm

Made only into an only topic. Please only post in this topic if you are having issues loading your forum which has a Canadian domain name.

I am trying to get into my group and its not letting me. I am getting the message that is in the screen shot below. I have internet connection cause I am in here sending you this message.
please help




LilaP
Forumember

Posts : 376
Reputation : 0
Language : English

http://thenawtypspden.canadian-forum.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by Darkel on April 17th 2015, 1:55 pm

Hi,

Have you tried using other browsers ?

Darkel
Hyperactive

Male Posts : 2186
Reputation : 272
Language : English, Tagalog
Location : Philippines

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by Ange Tuteur on April 17th 2015, 1:57 pm


Ange Tuteur
Forumaster

Male Posts : 13028
Reputation : 2704
Language : EN10, FR5
Location : Pennsylvania

http://fmdesign.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by LilaP on April 17th 2015, 1:57 pm

just tried Firefox and its telling me server not found

LilaP
Forumember

Posts : 376
Reputation : 0
Language : English

http://thenawtypspden.canadian-forum.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by Darkel on April 17th 2015, 1:59 pm

Check on Ange Tuteur post, the link he provided may answer your problem.

Darkel
Hyperactive

Male Posts : 2186
Reputation : 272
Language : English, Tagalog
Location : Philippines

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by LilaP on April 17th 2015, 2:03 pm

yes I know they had changed my link to canadian, but I was using it just fine until this morning. I bookmarked it again off the link Ange provided and its still not working. now what should I do?

LilaP
Forumember

Posts : 376
Reputation : 0
Language : English

http://thenawtypspden.canadian-forum.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by Darkel on April 17th 2015, 2:08 pm

Well based on the screenshot you have provided, it seems the sub-domain of your forum has been removed.

Darkel
Hyperactive

Male Posts : 2186
Reputation : 272
Language : English, Tagalog
Location : Philippines

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by Leviosa on April 17th 2015, 2:23 pm

@Lilap

I can access your forum properly:


Could you please explain the problem in details because I am not sure to well understand Sad ? Thanks


No help without your forum url
No support via private message



Leviosa
Administrator
Administrator

Female Posts : 15587
Reputation : 1589
Language : French, English

http://help.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by Darkel on April 17th 2015, 3:05 pm

Also going to add on Buttercup's post, is this your forum address ? http://thenawtypspden.canadian-forum.com

Darkel
Hyperactive

Male Posts : 2186
Reputation : 272
Language : English, Tagalog
Location : Philippines

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by LilaP on April 17th 2015, 7:37 pm

ok this is really strange. I got into the group earlier, but now I can't get in again. I can get into my other forumotion groups except for mine.
Hope they can fix this up soon..tyvn

LilaP
Forumember

Posts : 376
Reputation : 0
Language : English

http://thenawtypspden.canadian-forum.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by LilaP on April 17th 2015, 7:38 pm

Buttercup ... if you read the first message at the top is explains its all
ty

LilaP
Forumember

Posts : 376
Reputation : 0
Language : English

http://thenawtypspden.canadian-forum.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by brandon_g on April 17th 2015, 8:55 pm

Hello @LilaP

I also can access your forum with no problems (http://thenawtypspden.canadian-forum.com/login), so I don't think it's a forumotion side issue. Try clearing your browser cache and cookies and trying again. If this does not work, try a different web browser.


I am quite sure (based solely on the fact that Myself, Buttercup and Time can all access your forum no problem) that it is something on your end that may be causing the issue. As I said try clearing your browser cache and cookies and see if this helps.

-Brandon


Remember to mark your topic when a solution is found.

brandon_g
Support Moderator
Support Moderator

Male Posts : 5352
Reputation : 488
Language : English
Location : USA

http://broadcastingduo.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by SLGray on April 17th 2015, 10:59 pm

It loads fine for me, too.

@Buttercup
Could it be something to do with the Canadian government blocking something, like some other countries block Forumotion?


When your topic has been solved, ensure you mark the topic solved.
Never post your email in public.


SLGray
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 36648
Reputation : 2443
Language : English
Location : United States

http://ztwds.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by Canada Aquarium on April 17th 2015, 11:34 pm

I am also unable to get to my forum...

www.Canadaquaria.ca


As can none of my members...

Used multiple browsers.


Gives me the error "This webpage is not available"

Canada Aquarium
Forumember

Posts : 32
Reputation : 1
Language : English

http://www.canadaquaria.canadian-forum.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by Canada Aquarium on April 18th 2015, 1:36 am

I have looked into this... and it has to do with the auto redirect no longer occurring between old canadian-forum.com and the new non .ca pages.

My I had to readjust all my links and redirections to my personal domain to the new non .ca page.

I have solved that issue. I hope this helps others.

It would have been nice if someone was going to let us know when the redirection from the old .ca urls was going to stop though. I lost a days traffic.


HOWEVER: I am now receiving messages from members who cannot log on the forum...

"I can't seem to log in. I could not get the site at all this morning and now it does not recognize me. Doesn't even say wrong password. However, at the bottom of the page it says I am logged in. The "please register" window keeps popping up and I cannot get into anything other than the public access sections."


"Can't log in as well. It shows my name as logged in, but I cannot access."

Canada Aquarium
Forumember

Posts : 32
Reputation : 1
Language : English

http://www.canadaquaria.canadian-forum.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by Darkel on April 18th 2015, 5:29 am

This is quite strange, as i have observe it seem all users in Canada have been blocked from their forums. SLGray's post might have the connection for this problem.

Darkel
Hyperactive

Male Posts : 2186
Reputation : 272
Language : English, Tagalog
Location : Philippines

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by Canada Aquarium on April 18th 2015, 10:14 pm

It has now also completely ruined the indexing of my forum. I went from being on the front page of a number of search inquiries to nothing.

A response would be helpful.

Canada Aquarium
Forumember

Posts : 32
Reputation : 1
Language : English

http://www.canadaquaria.canadian-forum.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by SLGray on April 18th 2015, 10:22 pm

Made only into an only topic. Please only post in this topic if you are having issues loading your forum which has a Canadian domain name.


When your topic has been solved, ensure you mark the topic solved.
Never post your email in public.


SLGray
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 36648
Reputation : 2443
Language : English
Location : United States

http://ztwds.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Can't acces my forum site

Post by cybersal on April 18th 2015, 10:46 pm

Got an email from GoogleBot;

Enlarge this image

http://forum.darcymcgee.com/: Googlebot can't access your site
Over the last 24 hours, Googlebot encountered 8 errors while attempting to retrieve DNS information for your site. The overall error rate for DNS queries for your site is 57.1%.

I need to know why I can't access my forum http://darcymcgee.canadian-forum.com
this is als0 redirected to http://forum.darcymcgee.com i verified with my ISP and all is good.
The primary URL cannot be reached http://darcymcgee.canadian-forum.com
I think this is a problem with Forumotion. Please help

cybersal
New Member

Male Posts : 10
Reputation : 1
Language : english
Location : Montreal, Canada

http://www.darcymcgee.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by Canada Aquarium on April 18th 2015, 11:43 pm

I have also received the same errors from google today, for Canadaquaria.ca / Canadaquaria.canadian-forum.com


I did have to remove my old canadian-forum.com from google webmaster tools and replace it with the canadian-forum.com

I also still have members that attempt to log into the forum, but can only post as a guest in public areas.

Canada Aquarium
Forumember

Posts : 32
Reputation : 1
Language : English

http://www.canadaquaria.canadian-forum.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by brandon_g on April 18th 2015, 11:54 pm

@SLGray wrote:It loads fine for me, too.

@Buttercup
Could it be something to do with the Canadian government blocking something, like some other countries block Forumotion?

Time wrote:This is quite strange, as i have observe it seem all users in Canada have been blocked from their forums. SLGray's post might have the connection for this problem.

@cybersal wrote:Got an email from GoogleBot;

Enlarge this image

http://forum.darcymcgee.com/: Googlebot can't access your site
Over the last 24 hours, Googlebot encountered 8 errors while attempting to retrieve DNS information for your site. The overall error rate for DNS queries for your site is 57.1%.

I need to know why I can't access my forum http://darcymcgee.canadian-forum.com
this is als0 redirected to http://forum.darcymcgee.com i verified with my ISP and all is good.
The primary URL cannot be reached http://darcymcgee.canadian-forum.com
I think this is a problem with Forumotion. Please help


I think the above user's (Cybersal) post has busted the blocked in canada thing proposed by SLGray... I can not access the above forum... from either url and I am in the USA... also if it was the government blocking forumotion or whatever wouldn't it be so for every forum hosted by Forumotion? I have 2 moderators on my site who are both from Canada... they can access our forum fine. If I had to guess this is a forumotion issue... probably with the candian-forum.com url. Sad.

Just my bit of anaylzation and theorizing.


-Brandon

brandon_g
Support Moderator
Support Moderator

Male Posts : 5352
Reputation : 488
Language : English
Location : USA

http://broadcastingduo.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by Canada Aquarium on April 19th 2015, 12:34 am

I agree Brandon. All my users are from Canada. Well 98% of them.


I should note that members that can't log into the forum... can only get in if they go through my canadian-forum.com FIRST, before they can get my personalized .ca domain to work

In my admin panel... it also no longer shows my www.Cananadaquaria.ca in the tp left hand corner, but now this



I have also been speaking with the support staff for my personalized domain... and they think the issue is on forumotion's end too.

"I think you need to contact the forum providers and check if they added your new URL of the forum. The CNAME can be set to the destination which is recognized at your hosting. The CNAME set at the moment redirects your domain to the general page of the forum and it means that the specific path to your forum is not known." -from my domain support staff.

Canada Aquarium
Forumember

Posts : 32
Reputation : 1
Language : English

http://www.canadaquaria.canadian-forum.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by cybersal on April 19th 2015, 3:50 am

I agree with Canadaquaria. My site was was darcymcgee.canadian-forum.com and my domain name is forum.darcymcgee.com which in turns redirects to darcymcgee.canadian-forum.com but when I write the url it changes it to darcymcgee.canadian-forum.com.
I believe the ISP of forumotion is not directing the canadian-forum.com domain to canadia-forum.com
I am from Canada but would like to know if it is an issue to access only from here. If there is anyone from any other country, can you type the above url in your browser and see if it is accessible and reply to this topic please.

cybersal
New Member

Male Posts : 10
Reputation : 1
Language : english
Location : Montreal, Canada

http://www.darcymcgee.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by madilayn on April 19th 2015, 4:03 am

I also have the problem using a forumotion dot ca site (sorry - as a new user I cannot post links). Some of our members can get in, but others cannot. I have tried in Chrome, Firefox and IE - both on a Windows 7 and a Windows 8.1 laptop - the 8.1 laptop had no history cache in it (brand new laptop).

I think that the redirect has gone awry somehow.

madilayn
New Member

Posts : 2
Reputation : 1
Language : Brisbane

http://iffanfic.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by brandon_g on April 19th 2015, 4:13 am

Hello @cybersal

I live in the usa (as I mentioned in my previous post) and neither links to your forum work for me. Both the custom and candian-forum.com are both showing up as not known.

-Brandon


Remember to mark your topic when a solution is found.

brandon_g
Support Moderator
Support Moderator

Male Posts : 5352
Reputation : 488
Language : English
Location : USA

http://broadcastingduo.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by cybersal on April 19th 2015, 4:32 am

Thanks Brandon, I am experimenting in changing the redirects and my cname from my ISP control panel but nothing is working. I hope forumotion fixes this issue.

cybersal
New Member

Male Posts : 10
Reputation : 1
Language : english
Location : Montreal, Canada

http://www.darcymcgee.com

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by Darkel on April 19th 2015, 4:43 am

@cybersal wrote:Thanks Brandon, I am experimenting in changing the redirects and my cname from my ISP control panel but nothing is working. I hope forumotion fixes this issue.

Let's wait until tomorrow, since the Pro-Admin @Buttercup only work on weekdays

Darkel
Hyperactive

Male Posts : 2186
Reputation : 272
Language : English, Tagalog
Location : Philippines

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by brandon_g on April 19th 2015, 4:47 am

I am pretty sure that it is an on forumotion's end with ONLY the candian-forum.com url. I say only because as I mentioned earlier 2 of the moderators on my forum are from canada and they have no problem accessing the forum from there, however my forum url is .forumotion.com .

It will be stleast Monday before this is looked into and fixed. Since Buttercup and the techs are currently off for the weekend.

-Brandon


Remember to mark your topic when a solution is found.

brandon_g
Support Moderator
Support Moderator

Male Posts : 5352
Reputation : 488
Language : English
Location : USA

http://broadcastingduo.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by brandon_g on April 19th 2015, 4:47 am

I am pretty sure that it is an on forumotion's end with ONLY the candian-forum.com url. I say only because as I mentioned earlier 2 of the moderators on my forum are from canada and they have no problem accessing the forum from there, however my forum url is .forumotion.com .

It will be stleast Monday before this is looked into and fixed. Since Buttercup and the techs are currently off for the weekend.

-Brandon


Remember to mark your topic when a solution is found.

brandon_g
Support Moderator
Support Moderator

Male Posts : 5352
Reputation : 488
Language : English
Location : USA

http://broadcastingduo.forumotion.com/

Back to top Go down

Solved Re: [Only Topic] Issues Connecting With Forums That Have Canadian Domian Names

Post by cybersal on April 19th 2015, 4:48 am

Hey guys after I pointed the old ( d a r c y m c g e e . f o r u m o t i o n .ca) domain to canadian-forum.com , it took a while and my site is now visible. I wished forumotion would have send us an email to inform us of the changes.
Looks like all is good for me lets home it stays that way.
www.darcymcgee.com forum.darcymcgee.com

If you guys have your own domain, like I have, you should change the pointers to the new name they got. Good luck everybody.

cybersal
New Member

Male Posts : 10
Reputation : 1
Language : english
Location : Montreal, Canada

http://www.darcymcgee.com

Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum