The forum of the forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Advanced Recent Posts Features?

2 posters

Go down

Advanced Recent Posts Features? Empty Advanced Recent Posts Features?

Post by Lee Tamotsu May 8th 2011, 2:53 pm

I've been working with my forum for at least two years or so on and off. I know a lot about the admin panel, but not everything.

I know that there is a recent post function, that serves as a small widget, which can scroll. However I was wondering if there was a more advanced or complex version of this feature. I've been to some other forums, which have links, normally at the bottom, where the members can click to head to a full page about recent posts.

In it, they show a more detailed version, with the posters names and what was posted. I found this feature to be really convenient, because members can pinpoint posts that they want to reply to without having to navigate throughout the whole forum.

Is such a feature possible on Forumotion? Or is there some kind of coding that I can write up so that it is possible? I really know next to nothing about coding, however if it is possible, I'd definitely take the time to research it.

I just ask, because our forum can be buggy at times. Sometimes new posts are labeled as old before our members have the chance to even read/view them. It really hurts with conversations, especially with the RP sections, when they are not informed.

Also a lesser inconvenience is when the forum shows old posts being labeled as new, even though nothing has been posted since the topics were last viewed. I have gotten a lot of complaints regarding this problem, but after searching through these forums, I have found people with similar problems, but no solutions.

This is the only convenient solution I can think of, thank you for your time and help!
Lee Tamotsu
Forumember

Male Posts : 222
Language : English

http://avatarrp.aforumfree.com/index.htm