Portal (news) merged with Forum main page? Hitskin_logo Hitskin.com

This is a Hitskin.com skin preview
Install the skinReturn to the skin page

The forum of the forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
3 posters

Portal (news) merged with Forum main page?

snares

Language : english

Portal (news) merged with Forum main page? Empty Portal (news) merged with Forum main page?

Post by snares February 5th 2008, 9:43 pm

hi all. i do hope you guys can offer me some assistance.
    I'm rather new to forum designing/skinning and have recently started to get into this.

I have limited knowledge of HTML but my CSS skills are lacking.

I'm trying to recreate something i have seen on another site.
    here

as you can see. there is no seperate portal/forum. they seem to have merged the two. or drawn either the forum element into the portal. or the Portal news into the Forum.
    I would very much like to recreate this kind of look but i'm stuck.

I thought maybe i could do it by removing all the portal 'boxes' apart from news and then making a custom portal box with the html for the forum index within it.
    I realise this was a long shot and yep - it didnt work. lol.

I know that the problem is more a lack of knowledge in these things than anything else.
    I've been looking around for usefull places to start and i'm willing to spend some time to learn but i would really like to get this aspect of my forum down.

I was wondering if anyone here could throw me a few pointers on how this effect was achieved.

the end result i'm after is having the News section (updated - just like the portal) above the forum.
    Without having it seperate on the Portal or simply linked to via a button on the nav-bar.

and please, refrain from useless posts.