The forum of the forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Banned User keeps coming back

+9
Aurath
Derri
JennyorAlice
Darth Apple
Nayomi
Asriel
Sir Chivas™
Sanket
Legendarystory
13 posters

Go down

In progress Banned User keeps coming back

Post by Legendarystory April 12th 2013, 2:23 am

On one of the websites I'm an Admin of,we have a user who was banned (IP and Email) due to his behavior. Now, he's using a proxy site to get around the ban, using a new email (he had 5, and he keeps making more)

I'm not really sure what to do here. If we ban his new account, he'll use the proxy, which hides his IP, and he'll just create another Email. What action do you suggest?
Legendarystory

Language : English

Back to top Go down

In progress Re: Banned User keeps coming back

Post by Sanket April 12th 2013, 6:37 am

Just keep banning the user accounts. Don't IP ban, since he is using proxies.
Thats all you can really do.
Sanket
Sanket
ForumGuru

Male Posts : 48766

Back to top Go down

Post by Sir Chivas™ April 12th 2013, 6:40 am

Hi,

For know you can setup registration on Admin acceptal only.
ACP >> Users & Groups >> Users options >> account activation: []Admin

To activate accounts,
ACP >> users & groups >> inactive users
Sir Chivas™
Sir Chivas™
Helper
Helper

Male Posts : 6964
Language : EN, FR, ES

Back to top Go down

Post by Legendarystory April 12th 2013, 7:45 am

Yeah, we had the registration set to admin approval, but it's hard to tell if it's him or if it's a true new user. Since he changes both his username and email each time, it's hard to tell.
Legendarystory

Back to top Go down

Post by Sanket April 12th 2013, 8:24 am

Yes, its very difficult to stop these people unless they want to stop. So just keep banning them without showing them that you are troubled, they will go away sooner or later.
Sanket
Sanket
ForumGuru

Male Posts : 48766

Back to top Go down

Post by Asriel April 12th 2013, 6:20 pm