The forum of the forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hacked and Powerless

5 posters

Go down

Solved Hacked and Powerless

Post by Chimitsu June 27th 2012, 6:22 pm

Hello,
My name is Chimitsu; I’m an administrator on Lost Generations (link to be provided for any forum motion administrators who can help; I don’t want to inadvertently advertise). Last night around 10:30pm PST, our forum was hacked. I was not online at the time, but I was on the phone with Exodus, the only administrator who was currently online. Neither of us were prepared, and the only two administrators who could help us were out of contact (Kuroshinryu, founder; absent for quite some time, no computer access, ceased to answer his phone after one call | Leam, co-founder (lacking founder powers) and currently lead administrator; asleep and unable to be woken).

The hacking began with a redirect to a Rickroll’d site (http://www.dafk.net/what/), and was originally confined to the home page. Our banner was replaced with the troll face, and our background with the nyan cat, as seen below in a screenshot I took this morning:
Spoiler:

In an effort to minimize the damage seen by the members and to temporarily shut down our site to deal with the problem, I advised Exodus to set the site to maintenance mode. By this time he had found the coding to remove the redirect, but by the time he found the way to set the site to maintenance, the hacker had replaced the redirect and moved the coding. We do not, at this time, know where it is. In retrospect, the maintenance was a bad idea because now, it looks like the hacker has removed the administrative powers of the majority of our staff. Leam, Exodus, myself, Rogue, and Toby (our two remaining administrators) all lack powers, and now we can’t see if anything more has been done to our beloved site. Kuroshinryu is still out of reach at this time in spite of all attempts to contact him.