When you "hide" a visitor message..

Go down

When you "hide" a visitor message..

Post by Derri on June 23rd 2012, 8:48 pm

When you "hide" a visitor message by clicking the hide button where does it go and how do you get it back?
avatar
Derri
Helper
Helper

Male Posts : 8713
Reputation : 629
Language : English & Basic French
Location : Scotland, United Kingdom

Back to top Go down

Re: When you "hide" a visitor message..

Post by APE on June 23rd 2012, 10:28 pm

@Derri wrote:When you "hide" a visitor message by clicking the hide button where does it go and how do you get it back?
Hmm that is a Good Q i always thought it just gets deleted from the servers coz i have done the same thing and not ever got it back again

So i think it just gets deleted with is silly really as it should not say hide if it's removed and not seen again What the fuck ?!?

EDIT: When you hover your mouse over the Hide link it says moved to Archives but is thats it then it's just removed and gone Hmm a bug that needs to be looked at if you ask me lol
avatar
APE
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 12333
Reputation : 1285
Language : fluent in dork / mumbojumbo & English haha

http://chatworld.forumotion.co.uk/

Back to top Go down

Re: When you "hide" a visitor message..

Post by Derri on June 23rd 2012, 10:39 pm

@APE wrote:
@Derri wrote:When you "hide" a visitor message by clicking the hide button where does it go and how do you get it back?
Hmm that is a Good Q i always thought it just gets deleted from the servers coz i have done the same thing and not ever got it back again

So i think it just gets deleted with is silly really as it should not say hide if it's removed and not seen again What the fuck ?!?

EDIT: When you hover your mouse over the Hide link it says moved to Archives but is thats it then it's just removed and gone Hmm a bug that needs to be looked at if you ask me lol

As an Admin I have option to delete and hide. Big diffrence between the "hide" and "delete"
avatar
Derri
Helper
Helper

Male Posts : 8713
Reputation : 629
Language : English & Basic French
Location : Scotland, United Kingdom

Back to top Go down

Re: When you "hide" a visitor message..

Post by APE on June 23rd 2012, 11:21 pm

yeah i have the same but they both do the same thing and that is delet the post and not have a setting to get them back or show the text again no matter what link you push...

I think this is silly if you hide a post but it gets removed for good haha

TECH's need to have this on there list of to fix Wink



avatar
APE
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 12333
Reputation : 1285
Language : fluent in dork / mumbojumbo & English haha

http://chatworld.forumotion.co.uk/

Back to top Go down

Re: When you "hide" a visitor message..

Post by Darren1 on June 23rd 2012, 11:30 pm

Hi,

Can you please provide a screenshot of a before and after case please.
Doesn't need to be the same thread.

Are you sure there's nothing that says "Unhide" or "Re-show"?

RD, you know in the advanced profile, the profile messages there, I believe.
avatar
Darren1
Helper
Helper

Male Posts : 11853
Reputation : 563
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Re: When you "hide" a visitor message..

Post by Derri on June 23rd 2012, 11:30 pm

Rideem3 wrote:What exactly is the visitor message you're talking about? The pop-up login box?

Visitor message in the profile section.
avatar
Derri
Helper
Helper

Male Posts : 8713
Reputation : 629
Language : English & Basic French
Location : Scotland, United Kingdom

Back to top Go down

Re: When you "hide" a visitor message..

Post by APE on June 24th 2012, 1:27 am

ok
When some one posts a comment on your VM you get this under the post


screen shot of a post with Hide Message and delete links

When you hover your mouse over the Hide Message you get this


when you press to hide the message the post will be removed and no way to get it back again

Screen shot when pressed


as you can see there is no button / link to get the post back again

and it removes it just as it would do if you delete the Comment.

Hmm why have 2 links that do the same thing with the one they have on vbulletin they have a delete read and hide button if you press hide the members can not see But you can still see it.

~Ape~
avatar
APE
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 12333
Reputation : 1285
Language : fluent in dork / mumbojumbo & English haha

http://chatworld.forumotion.co.uk/

Back to top Go down

Re: When you "hide" a visitor message..

Post by Darren1 on June 24th 2012, 2:04 am

Thanks Ape!

No, their 2 different options.
"Delete" removes them completely.
"Hide" moves them to the archives. Just like with PM's when their too full. They are kept but on the server, accessible by Devs only I believe.
There's no real easy way to restore them. Sorry.

Maybe we should get Leeloo in to verify or deny what was said in this thread?
avatar
Darren1
Helper
Helper

Male Posts : 11853
Reputation : 563
Language : English

Back to top Go down

Re: When you "hide" a visitor message..

Post by Shadow on June 26th 2012, 2:23 pm

Hello,

The visitors messages should be archived in the savebox of the user when you click on "Hide".

But the text is really confusing, I need to change this !

Thanks Wink
avatar
Shadow
Administrator
Administrator

Male Posts : 15965
Reputation : 1729
Language : French, English

https://help.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum