The forum of the forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

PhD researcher asking about forum technicalities

3 posters

Go down

In progress PhD researcher asking about forum technicalities

Post by ecoimbra October 21st 2017, 9:19 pm

Dear all,

I am a PhD student in Linguistics at Queen Mary University of London. I am planning in opening a forum (I'll be the admin and moderator) for a study on how people who experience sexual intrusive thoughts use language to make sense of their mental states. My study deals with observing participants' linguistic behavior and extracting their linguistic data into my computer so that I can use specific software to analyse the whole thing.

As you can imagine, my study deals with a sensitive topic, and I need to be sure that my participants remain safe and anonymous. Hence, I need to know several things before welcoming participants.

I am grateful for any response and help. Please answer me by using the title of each question so that I can have an overview of what I am asking Smile I don't need any answers that tell how to do the things that I ask (I will ask in the future about it), but whether they are possible to do or not. This is for me to plan things ahead.

For your information, I have no experience in coding (I only know how to copy/paste certain codes in order for them to create things).

• Question 1:
    On this page, it informs me about Forumotion's databases. I was wondering how secure these databases are? Would you advise me to do my study here or should I go somewhere else?

• Question 2: